Formed in:

Lyrical theme(s):
Astral and Existentialist Philosophy

Winds came into existence in 1998 when four Norwegian musicians from different backgrounds happened to cross musical paths. This was a result of previous work some of them had done with each other and through mutual acquaintances who lead them together. These individuals were already renowned within their specialties: Lars Eric Si as a vocalist with a truly unique voice, Carl August Tidemann as a neo-classical guitar virtuoso, Jan Axel von Blomberg as the most highly regarded metal drummer of our time, and Andy Winter as a classically inspired pianist.

Looking back at the history of the band, as the first recording Of Entity and Mind was completed in 2000, Avantgarde Music made an offer to sign Winds for two records. This deal was inked without even presenting the music to any other labels. Of Entity and Mind was received with awe by the fans as they didn't anticipate Winds' uncompromising combination of classical, progressive and metal music with sounds and harmonies. It was unlike anything else done before.

As Of Entity and Mind continued receiving positive feedback, the band had not been idle and was already far into the process of composing the follow-up, to be entitled Reflections of the I. After this record was completed, The End Records, who inquired about licensing the album for release in America, contacted the band. Avantgarde Music was consulted and accepted the offer. Reflections of the I was released in 2002 and hosted great reviews and critical acclaim, receiving top scores in virtually every significant publication related to their style of music.

As before, the band was still on a creative rollercoaster and had almost completed ideas for all the tracks to a third album even before the previous was released. Having fulfilled their contract with Avantgarde Music, Winds was now free to accept offers from other labels. Once again, The End Records was quick to put an offer on the table, this time to take on the band worldwide. The band accepted the offer without hesitation, and although other labels had showed interest, the band signed once again to The End Records.

After six months of being in and out of studios, the third album was finally completed. The third Winds effort was entitled The Imaginary Direction of Time. Following in the vein of the previous albums with philosophically charged lyrics, the new album took Winds to new heights both in the lyrical and musical field. It was without a doubt the band’s most elegant album to date, and it also had a new and added dimension of intricacy because of the increased collective effort in the compositional process. The Imaginary Direction of Time was, as its predecessors, well received by both fans and press.

Time went by once again, and the members of Winds had a well-earned break to pursue other bands and projects for a while. Even so, new compositions were already brewing, and it was only a matter of time before the band set out to record yet another album, to be their fourth.

Being the bands most ambitious and extensive album so far in their career, the new album took three years to record. The band utilized all their talents and perseverance to bring their musical creativity to new heights, and for the first time ever, the band was also joined by several respected guests - Agnete M. Kirkevaag (Madder Mortem), Lars Nedland (Borknagar, Solefald), Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity, Nightingale, ex. Bloodbath) and Øystein Moe (ex. Tritonus, Ulver) - who have each brought their own artistic touch to the album. The band yet again recorded with musicians from the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra for this release.

Prominence and Demise is easily the most complex recording experience of this established band's near 10 year long career. Winds has by now become a band known for their eloquent classical passages and virtuoso guitar work, yet the new album provides the listener with bolder arrangements, lengthier songs, more powerful vocals, and an edgier sound.

Eikind (Lars Eric Si) - Vocals, Bass
Carl August Tidemann - Guitar
Hellhammer (Jan Axel Blomberg) - Drums
Andy Winter - Keyboards

Of Entity and Mind(EP,2001)   
Reflections of the I(Full-length,2002)   
The Imaginary Direction of Time(Full-length, 2004)
Prominence and Demise(Full-length, 2007)

The Official Winds Site

Отредактировано Айс Hurt (11-04-2011 14:44:24)